John Harbison: The Rewaking

Soprano 2Vn, Va, Vc

Sale price$77.00

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Additional Info

  • Composer
    John Harbison
  • Publisher
    Associated Music Publishers Inc
  • Arrangement
    Voice/Ensemble (VCE/ENS)
  • Format
    Score and Parts
  • Genre
    20th Century
  • Text
    William Carlos Williams
  • Language


For soprano and string quartet. The Rewaking is a setting of four poems by William Carlos Williams, in which the theme of "rewaking" from a winter of spirit is carried forward equally by all five performers. It begins with a string prelude, introducing many of the later vocal melodies. Two birds, the florid wood thrush and the obsessive woodpecker give rise to the "tragic winter thoughts." Then amid the buffeting of a storm, "the lady speaks" of endurance and persistence. The final answer is not to "come to the end of striving" but to extend time "indefinitely," which the final resolution seeks to do. — John Harbison. Movements: I. The Woodthrush II. To A Woodpecker III. The Lady Speaks IV. The Rewaking

You may also like