John Harbison: The Natural World

Soprano [=Mezzo Soprano] Fl, Cl, Pf, Vn, Vc

Sale price$105.00

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Additional Info

  • Composer
    John Harbison
  • Publisher
    Associated Music Publishers Inc
  • Arrangement
    Voice/Ensemble (VCE/ENS)
  • Format
    Score and Parts
  • Genre
    20th Century
  • Text
    English; Robert Bly, Wallace Stevens; James Wright
  • Language


For soprano, flute, clarinet, piano, violin, and cello. Every cultural era redefines its relationship to nature, and recently these definitions have become increasingly urgent, artificial, even anxious. As nature becomes more remote from daily reality, its images hardly diminish in art: the less we have, the more we seem to need. The musical images in this piece are far distant from Beethoven's rustling brooks, the broad mountain space of Mahler's open fifths, or even the mimetic accuracy of Messaien's birds. The crickets and crow in my piece are transcriptions, but transcriptions made to navigate in our world of phase shifts and "migrating" harmonies. — John Harbison. In four movements: Prelude. I. Where We Must Look For Help II. On The Road Home III. Milkweed

You may also like