Joan Tower: Strike Zones (piano reduction)


Concerto for percussion and orchestra - piano reduction: solo part and piano part

Sale price$35.00

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Additional Info

  • Composer
    Joan Tower
  • Publisher
    Associated Music Publishers
  • Arrangement
    Percussion/Orchestra (PERC/ORCH)
  • Format
  • Genre
    20th Century


Concerto for percussion and orchestra - piano reduction. "Tower focuses the action on the instruments themselves, using them sequentially rather than simultaneously; she explores the sonic possibilities of each one, from the lightest touch to the heaviest battery....Each instrument takes on a distinctive character and the orchestra reflects and amplifies it. The vibraphone is used meditatively, with its pulsing vibrato set against a hazy background. The high-hat is given a flamboyant solo cadenza that recalls its jazz temperament. Strike Zones is an episodic piece, but the episodes have interest." — Philip Kennicott, Washington Post

You may also like