John Harbison: Six American Painters (flute version)

Fl, Vn, Va, Vc

Sale price$33.00

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Additional Info

  • Composer
    John Harbison
  • Publisher
    Associated Music Publishers Inc
  • Arrangement
    Chamber Group (CHAM)
  • Format
    Score and Parts
  • Genre
    20th Century


For flute, violin, viola, and cello. Six American Painters began as a musical description of six paintings in the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Eventually they ranged further and it seemed more helpful to name them for the painters rather than specific paintings. I wanted to evoke the artists' after-images, rather than any of the individual works. When you look at a picture, you take away a general impression, a mood or color, that dominates the details; in music, one is apt to remember the details, a tune or a harmony. I wanted these movements to be a perceivable whole, an act of seeing. The movements are as follows: I. Bingam II. Eakins III. Heade IV. Homer/Inness V. Hoffman VI. Diebenkorn — John Harbison

You may also like