Florence Price: Rowing: Little Concert Waltz

For piano (edited by John Michael Cooper)

Sale price$12.00

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Additional Info

  • Composer
    Florence Price
  • Publisher
    G Schirmer Inc
  • Arrangement
    Piano (PF)
  • Genre
    20th Century


For piano (edited by John Michael Cooper)

The surviving Florence Price autographs reveal that she had a fondness for lilting, sparkling waltzes — works such as Rainbow Waltz, Summertime Waltz, Waltz of the Spring Maid, and Waltzing on a Sunbeam, among others. Rowing is one such work. It showcases Price's gifts as melodist in two contrasting ways: the A section (mm. 9-40) tosses graceful, rapid scales around from register to register in quick alternation, while the B section (mm. 41-72) features slower and more lyrical melodies. Although the work's genre largely discourages the sort of sophisticated harmonic explorations that characterize much of Price's other piano music, passages such as mm. 30-37 bespeak Price's ability to add subtle harmonic interest even in contexts in which melodic and rhythmic interests predominate — in this case, the joyful rhythms of the waltz.

— John Michael Cooper

You may also like