Augusta Read Thomas: Incantation (cello version)


Sale price$9.00

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Additional Info

  • Composer
    Augusta Read Thomas
  • Publisher
    G Schirmer Inc
  • Arrangement
    Cello (VLC)
  • Format
  • Genre
    20th Century


For cello. About the original version for violin, the composer says, "…it represents a snap shot into my long love affair with the strings, and the violin in particular, an instrument for which I have composed many works (some withdrawn, others published by G. Schirmer) including: Spirit Musings for solo violin and chamber orchestra, and for violin and cello. Incantation was composed for Cathryn Tait, who, at the time, was dying of cancer. Cathryn presented the premiere performance, beautifully, a few weeks before her death, in a very touching recital. The short, 5-minute, work celebrates Cathryn's generosity of spirit. The music sings out, with beauty and grace, always with a richness and elegance. The work falls loosely into an ABA from, ending as it were, on a question, with a major seventh hanging in the air, unresolved. "

You may also like