Mark Adamo: Four Angels

piano reduction

Sale price$55.00

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Additional Info

  • Composer
    Mark Adamo
  • Publisher
    G Schirmer Inc
  • Arrangement
    Harp/Piano Accompaniment (HARP/PFA)
  • Format
    Score and Parts
  • Genre
    20th Century


Concerto for harp and orchestra - piano reduction. Four movements: Overture: Metatron; Scherzo: Sraosha; Aria: Regina Coeli; Finale: Mik’hail. Commissioned by the National Symphony Orchestra of Washington. The passionate and protean angels of art and scripture bear little resemblance to the images of simpering cherubim everywhere prevalent in mass culture. Likewise, the charismatic, potentially dominant harp— inevitably underscoring those images—has been constantly caricatured as just the golden vehicle of glamourous, glissando sentimentality. I wondered: could one make a concerto that uses only the personae—not any explicit narrative—of angels from different cultures to liberate both image and instrument from centuries of cliché? — Mark Adamo

You may also like