John Harbison: Die Kürze - set of score and parts

Fl, Cl, Pf, Vn, Vc

Sale price$49.00

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Additional Info

  • Composer
    John Harbison
  • Publisher
    Associated Music Publishers Inc
  • Arrangement
    Piano Chamber (PFC)
  • Format
    Score and Parts
  • Genre
    20th Century


For flute, clarinet, piano, violin, and cello. Die Kürze (Brevity) was composed in 1969, and is dedicated too the pianist Robert Levin, who took part in its first performance at the New York Composer's Forum. Subsequently performers include the Fires of London and the chamber ensemble of the New England Conservatory. The work is a very intimate chamber piece, aphoristic in nature, divided into three short movements. The first movement is an exchange between the piano and the other players, both in lyrical isolation. This is followed by a kind of burlesque, a series of bravura solos ending in a mock-arisos. The last movement is a wordless setting of Hölderlin's Die Kürze. — John Harbison

You may also like