Augusta Read Thomas: Carillon Sky (violin version) - solo part (violin)

Violin 1(Pic).1.1.0/0.1(Pictpt).1[=Atbn].0/Hp.Pf/2Perc/2Vn.2Vc[=Va]

Sale price$13.00

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Additional Info

  • Composer
    Augusta Read Thomas
  • Publisher
    G Schirmer Inc
  • Arrangement
    Violin/Ensemble (VLN/ENS)
  • Format
  • Genre
    20th Century


Concerto for violin and large ensemble - solo violin part only. The title Carillon Sky refers to a fantasized image that stimulated me to compose this music — that of a sky full of very soft tinkling and flickering bells, as well as very clamorous pealing, ringing, resonant bells, through which one floats. As if a Cathedral's Bell Tower becomes a metaphor for natures ever changing landscape and the violin soloist is a distinctive bird soaring, interacting, circling and swirling in the resonance. The idea was to try to compose a mini violin concerto, but one that is in fact a "whole piece" — all packed into less than 7 minutes. This is like a miniature etching. — Augusta Read Thomas

You may also like