Donnacha Dennehy: Bulb

vn, vc, pf

Sale price$40.00

Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Meta Pay Google Pay Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Venmo Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Additional Info

  • Composer
    Donnacha Dennehy
  • Publisher
    G Schirmer Inc
  • Arrangement
    Piano/Violin/Cello (PF/VLN/VLC)
  • Format
    Score and Parts
  • Genre
    20th Century


For piano trio. Premiered by the Fidelio Trio in 2006.

Composer note:
Bulb was commissioned by the Fidelio Trio with funds provided by the Arts Council of Ireland. It takes as its basis the overtone series built on a very low G, and it grows outwards from a small band of these overtones by means of pulsing glissandi (in the violin and cello). Well in fact these pulsing glissandi are for the most part made of two notes (one moving, the other providing a reference drone by its repetitions). By the end, the violin and piano have swapped registral places. It’s an artificial vandalism of a natural phenomenon (the overtone series), like the way electric lighting is of the visual spectrum, or the paintings of Bridget Riley are of various natural perceptions.

— Donnacha Dennehy

You may also like